Thickesses needed for Tenor Build

Bitterboy

Reaction score
Hey Gang,
I am right now in way cold Portland, OR.
I am a Electric Bass builder with a couple of acoustics built in the past. So I have a pile of sides and backs in mahogany, and a few spruce sound boards I would like to transform into some tenor Ukes. So I sketched a profile of a Tenor, More Small Gibson L0 looking, cobbed up a bracing design 3 fan brace, and now the fun part.
What is a good side and top thickness??
I used 0.085" for a Flamenco and a Parlor guitar I made for sides as they bent nicely.
I was thinking of building an all mahogany and 2 spuce tops. One with spuce bracing and one with a thinner top and spruce/carbon fiber braces.
What do you all use for kerfing??
Do you use the standard guitar top and back radius?? 25' and 15'??
Thanks for any input...
Robet

Not getting a whole lot here, huh? I gotta admit, while this is the Luthier's Lounge, most of the member's I see post here are on the extreme ends, meaning, they are just starting, or they've already been there. Because of this, most of the suggestions for those just starting are similar, and pointed towards other resources.

That being said:
First off, if you're a Steel String builder, you'll have a tendency to overbuild - just something to be aware of.
More than likely, sides will be thicker than your top. You can keep the .085 for your sides.
Kerfed lining can be whatever you areadly use for your acoustics. I've used Basswood (very light) and Mahogany in the past. I'm liking Spanish Cedar right now.
Only a certain few use a radius on their tops - most factories are flat. Backs are tapered more than radiused. I've seen a few customs that use a radius dish, and I think there are (two) factories that use them as well. I throw a 15' on the back, which is almost unnoticable, but relevant. The 25' on the top won't hurt, but at 9" wide, that will be even less noticeable. I realize you're doing it more for affect, than effect.