the triplet strum

NukeDOC

Retired Mod
Reaction score
ive been toying with this on and off for a few months now. and i have seen several ways to do it.

jake's triplet: down with middle&ring fingers, down with thumb, up with thumb
tafkam1's triplet: down with ring, down with index, up with thumb
lilrevdotcom's triplet: down with index, down with thumb, up with thumb

looks like it all comes down to what you are comfy with and how youre willing to practice it the most.

hence, mine is: down middle, down index, up thumb
but im still having trouble with it. just doesnt sound clean enough to me.

matter of fact, when i try to really do it fast, i end up doing:
down middle, down index, down thumb, up thumb. hahaha

so how you do you guys do it... if you do. i would like to try other ways if there are any, just in case one of them turns out to be more comfortable for me to do with more cleanliness.

The way I do it is

Up with the thumb, up with the pointer, and then down with the pointer

Try that out :D

Nuke, there are a bunch of ways to do a triple strum. I suggest mastering all of them you run across. This will help you down the road once you advance in playing skill and techique. Here is a run down on some of my favorite triple strums.

1. As Aldrine said, thumb up , pointer up, pointer down.

This is a very fast, very smooth sounding, and overall useful triple strum. Nail this sucker down!

2. pointer down, pointer up, pointer down.

This is all in the wrist action. It is basically a quick snap of the wrist and is really nothing more just the first 3 strums of a basic up, down pointer strum. Practice this a thousand times or more until you can do it without hesitation. Very powerful, useful, and precise sound.

Here are some additional variations of triple strums:

...JAKE has two (that I know about). Here they are...

Taken from (2) four strum techiques of his...