Ohana "Super Concert" CK35-L

groucho26

Reaction score
I'm new to UU here, but just bought a new Ohana CK35-L from Grizzly music on Ebay and wanted to give a quick review:

Features
What year was it made? Where was is made? (Hawaii, Japan, China etc...) New, 2010? China
How many frets? 19
Solid-Top? Laminated top? Solid mahogany top, back, sides
Any pickups or electronics? No
Body and neck woods? ( Koa, Plywood, etc...) mahogany neck, rosewood fingerboard
Finish (Satin, transparent, quilted top, flamed top, etc...) satin
Body style (Soprano, Tenor, Concert, Cutaway, etc...) Concert
Bridge style ( String-thru body, stop tailpiece, etc...) typical tie-on
Tuners (Locking? Non-locking? brand of tuners - Sperzel, Gotoh, Grover, Schaller, etc...) Gotoh type gear
Neck/Scale (Fat, Thin, Jumbo Frets, Rosewood, Maple, etc...) Slim (all uke necks seem slim to me as a guitar player), nice size frets, very playable
Any included accessories? (Case, gig bag, strap, cable, tools, humidifier, etc...) A elec metronome came with it

Sound
How does it suit your music style (and what is that style)? This is my first decent uke, and I wanted solid wood if at all possible. The sound to me is pretty mellow and rich, not brash or bright. I was a bit afraid that a tenor uke would seem too much like a guitar to me (I have two dreadnoughts and a parlor guitar "O-size"), so I decided on the concert size body with the tenor neck - seems more like a uke to me with the smaller body. I have no style yet, but the sound of this Ohana seems pretty versatile - plucked firmly the tone comes out nicely.
What amps and effects are you using it with? Nothing yet, but I'm thinking of some U2 delay...
Is it noisy? On what settings?
Rich/Full sound? Bright sound? Rich, more full. Aquila strings as original equip.

Action, Fit & Finish