Uke player falling to the Bass side...

kissing

Reaction score
Ukes were my introduction to stringed instruments... and lately I've been having a strong, growing interest in basses.

I got the Ashbory bass a few months ago, and I quite like it.
It's compact, sounds bouncy and jazzy, and I love being able to have some bass in my arsenal. But the more I practice, the more I feel the need for frets for certain styles of playing. It's a bit hard going straight to a short-scaled fretless as a complete beginner of bass.

Now, coming from a background of ukes and dipping my feet for the first time in Bass waters.... I'm torn between getting a conventional, full size bass.... or going for the unique, smaller sized, novel choices that I'm attracted to.

I have my eyes set on 2 basses, and can't decide.

First is an Italia Rimini semi-hollow Bass:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370523093858&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

The advantages of this choice to me seems:
-Full sized bass with humbucker pickups (better sustain, more bass response)

The disadvantages are (in my view):
-It's big and heavy compared to the instruments I am used to playing
-It's a bit expensive, but I won't settle for less either if I go for a standard bass

Second is a more whacky, unconventional choice. A Fernandes ZO-3 ("Nomad") bass:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NEW-Fern...p-/110704737953?pt=Guitar&hash=item19c6843ea1

Advantages (in my view)
-Has that novel, 'cute and small' factor that attracts me to ukes
-More familiar sized fingerboard
-More affordable

Disadvantages:
-Shorter scale means less sustain and bassy sound quality than a full sized bass?
-Piezo pickup also means less sustain than magnetic pickup basses?

So I figured I'd ask for the opinions of the bass players of the uke community.
At the moment, my heart is leaning a bit more towards the Fernandes.