How Do you Improvise

Hey Hippie, nice lesson. One nit picky thing I have to say about it though. I am pretty sure that *technically* if you are into the whole "scale X goes with chord type Y" approach, you play a D major scale over A7 (A C# E and then G natural instead of G# from the A major scale.) but that is only if you want to be a theory nerd. which I am occasionally guilty of ...sorry... :eek:

Last edited:
I wrote a short piece on soloing at: http://liveukulele.com/lessons/soloing/

Hopefully that gives you something to work with.

being self taught without any formal training in music theory, freestyle soloing has always been a holy grail for me. so i enthusiastically clicked on the link and started reading. then i got to the point where you say "if you dont know your scales, go lean them. right now."

dammit!!!

hahaha.

scales

where do I get the scales for the uke? I have them for the guitar, but transfering the form over to the uke and remembering what the root note is can be hard. Is there a source for scales on the uke?

Thanks

dis is one of da tings i wanna learn on da ukulele too. I got a couple of books dat helped me get used to picking:

Both of Herb Jr's books is full of info ... an da odda one I REALLY like is Fretboard Roadmaps for the Ukulele.

In dat book Jim Beloff goes through a TON of useful info on how you can get around da ukulele fretboard, from learning da positions of ANY chord (maj, min, and 7th) all da chord inversions, and den important scale patterns on da ukulele. Even get stuffs on chord progressions, blues boxes an all kine stuff liddat.

I still not pau da whole book, since i wen get one brain ovaload :eek:

But, I did learn how fo pick out melodies and try come up wit some intros to songs I like fo sing. Da odda plus side fo Beloff's book is dat it's real cheap, fo pake guys like me, and da ting even comes wit one CD !