EJ88UB - Bass Ukulele Nyltech String

Fuzzbass

Reaction score
Does anybody know if the D'Addario EJ88UB - Bass Ukulele Nyltech Strings fit the acoustic UBass?

In all the documents about them I've seen online these strings are MADE for the U-Bass, acoustic or solid-body and as per a guy I spoke to on the phone from D'Addario in January, he said that they have designed and tested them for both acoustic and solid-body U-bass and other uke-basses made by companies OTHER than Kala...

They tend to be cheaper than the Thunderguts, which I did NOT like, but I have not been motivated to waste another $20 on these and not like them as well (they are using a formula to make them that is licensed/based upon the Aquila Thungergut strings, but slightly different)...

I tend to prefer the black Pahoehoe strings, and have found them to be consistent once broken in.

Having said all the above, I only use my uke basses at home for songwriting and recording, so I have no field experience gigging with them, so I cannot say how the strings might hold up 'out there'...

Thanks for you reply. I'm really torn! I have never really got on with the "rubber" like strings on the UBass. I have had a couple of sets of the Pyramid Silver strings on over the last year or so. I supposed having been a bass player for 20 odd years, I feel a little more at home with these. I was sort of hoping the D'addarios were more along those lines. The only two things I worry about with the Pyramid strings are the eating away at the bridge that occurs, and the string noise, other than that I really like them. I find the intonation much better and they sound a little clearer to me. I'm having my Acoustic UBass set up this week with a new nut and a new saddle as my action is a little high for my taste. I was debating whether to try the Nyltech strings this time, but I think I'll stick to the Pyramids for now. :)