NUD - Gary Gill short-neck tenor

RafterGirl

Reaction score
My new Gary Gill - Pear shaped tenor body/concert neck, aka short-neck tenor arrived yesterday from Mim. Thanks Mim, you rock!

Douglas Fir top
Mahogany back & sides
Side sound port
Walnut & maple headstock
Walnut fretboard with Corian fret markers
Walnut binding
Worth Brown strings
MiSi pick-up

I am most comfortable with concert scale. I do ok with soprano, but tenor was a little too much for my less than long & graceful fingers. I had a tenor & loved the sound, but just couldn't get used to it. Happily, I came across this tenor/concert combo, and it fits my needs perfectly. Wonderful tenor sound with a scale I can manage easily. Mim described the tone of this uke as "buttery" and she was right. This is my first time with Worth Brown strings, and now I know why everyone likes them so much. They sound & feel great.

Attachments

• DSCF1555.jpg
    DSCF1555.jpg
    99.4 KB · Views: 100
  • DSCF1558.jpg
    DSCF1558.jpg
    96.5 KB · Views: 79
  • DSCF1560.jpg
    DSCF1560.jpg
    95.9 KB · Views: 60
Nice, I didn't know there were any left since Gary retired from building awhile back. You should enjoy that for years to come!

Looks great! A real find. Tenor body and concert neck really appeals to me so if you ever decide to sell please let me know pleeeeease.
How do you think this compares to your new Loprinzi?
I just tried Worth browns mediums on one of my ukes too and was pleasantly surprised - feel and sound is quite a bit different from the Worth CL and Martins.

Looks great! A real find. Tenor body and concert neck really appeals to me so if you ever decide to sell please let me know pleeeeease.
How do you think this compares to your new Loprinzi?
I just tried Worth browns mediums on one of my ukes too and was pleasantly surprised - feel and sound is quite a bit different from the Worth CL and Martins.