NUD: It's Moore Bettah than I even dreamed

wickedwahine11

Reaction score
To paraphrase Jon Snow, “all the best ukulele have names.” I’ve always named my ukulele. I know some people say that is crazy, why name something that won’t come when you call it? But I’ve always named my cats too, and they sure don’t come when I call them. Warning the story to follow is long. But to understand why this is more than just an ukulele to me, it needs to be told. And sorry the pics are so big -- photos here on the forum have been wonky of late so they are embedded from an external site.

I longed for a Moore Bettah ukulele almost as soon as I first saw one, not long after I started playing the uke in December of 2008 - almost six years ago. As soon as I was fortunate enough to place my order for a custom Moore Bettah ukulele, I began thinking about what I would name it. I had some beautiful looking and nice sounding ukes, and some nice looking and beautiful sounding ukes, but no uke had yet been that perfect combination for me of tone and beauty. From what I could see of Moore Bettah ukes, they seemed to be that rare union of both. Once I looked up “union” in the Hawaiian dictionary, and saw the word “hui,” I figured I would just add the word for beautiful “nani” and came up with the name “Hui Nani.” I had the name for my uke. No uke yet, but I had the name.

As I was talking with Chuck over the course of the months before my uke was built, I was struck by something that he mentioned to me at one point: that his ukes (and I suppose most custom instruments by extension) are a union of the builder and the client — it would be a part of him and a part of me that would exist in this ukulele. I smiled to myself as he said it because I knew that my ukulele’s name now had a double meaning. It was not just a union of sound and visual beauty, but also of a piece of both the luthier and myself.