My next Uke????

Scotte

Reaction score
My first and current uke is an Schmidt OU2. I started playing 3 months ago and have taught myself. I have changed to aqila strings. Thinking about upgrading my instrument. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Going to get suggestions all over the place. Any ideas on what you are looking for? Price range is a biggy. Size? wood/finish? Desired sound? Special features such as cutaway, pickup, etc. etc.? If you can narrow it down a little, you will get much better results.

Thanks for the advice. Price $300 +/-. No real preference about wood finish or any special features. Currently on a Concert and that seems to be a good size for me.

in that range you will get two common referrals of pono and mainland. Never played mainland but the look nice.

I would look for one of these...
http://www.theukulelesite.com/koaloha-opio-concert-ukulele-package.html

This is one of the best concerts in the mid-range price point, IMO... I think Pono's build for concerts is a little less effective than their tenors (again, my own opinion), but you can't go wrong with the Opios/KoAlanas as your next step. If you wanted something in between or cheaper (might be hard to find a good Opio/KoAlana for cheap) Kala's mid-level concerts with solid wood construction are great, and Mainland is obviously a very good and popular choice.

I managed to snag a good KoAlana concert from Isaac (ukulelelab) for $235 shipped... a great deal, and obviously one that was available for a short time. My point is, look around before you buy new... you may luck out and get something good for cheap!