Tenor Ukulele Recommendations Needed

seaverd

Reaction score
I am looking for some advice, I started playing with my kids $30 Hilo soprano ukulele and have decided it is fun and am looking to purchase a ukulele. After some research I have decided that I would like a tenor ukulele, but am having a hard time deciding on what to purchase. At this point I am thinking my budget should be $200 or less. From posts on this site I have seen people say favorable things about:

Islander MT-4
Gretsch 9120
KPK Mahogany Tenor
Mainland Slothead Tenor ($280…or contact and look for a blem)
Islander MST-4

I understand that the first two are laminates…is this where I should start? I then found some favorable postings on KPK tenor ukes…which is under my $200 budget. Any thoughts on these?

Would I be better off continuing to use the Hilo while watching the marketplace for a used/blem Mainland Slot head tenor or Islander MST-4?

Any help would be greatly appreciated or suggestions of other ukuleles to consider!

Dan

There's a lot of good tenor ukuleles out there for your budget and less. Lanikai, Kala, Oscar Schmidt and Gretsch are always on sale someplace.

There's nothing wrong with a laminate instrument. I have had many (guitars, mandolins and ukuleles). They fit a price point and are quite serviceable and pleasant. As with everything, the brand makes a difference, and so does the seller.

There are many vendors out there, some better than others. Finding the best vendor is often more important than selecting which instrument out of so many that are pretty much alike. A vendor which really guarantees what they sell rather than beats everyone's price by $3 is well worth the extra couple bucks.

Seconds are one thing, blemishes are another. If the second is only cosmetic, as most blemishes are, then the imperfection can result in a price difference of 25% or more. Whether it's worth it is a personal call.

Hope this helps a bit.