HELP! Noobee wants solid acacia tenor, Pono or Kala ?!?

Reaction score
hello all, new here also total noobie ta string music making... Story short, got the ukulele bug an' also need some help/focus fer my PTSD :rolleyes:

While waitin fer some Xmas bonus €€ ta come thru, I'm making myself crazy with choices, an being a bit of a sybarite I'm hitting quite high fer an absolute beginner: want solid wood, or 'least solid top!! :D

Have to relay on net samples/shops 'cuz local shops deal mostly (read: only) laminated or toys...
1st I came across Kala ASAC T an was love at 1st sight! next came the cedar top/laminated acacia KA-ATP-CT ... gotta love those slotted headstocks:drool:

but alas, the cedar seem ta have sold out fast... To make a point clear: Im in Europe, an refuse te have ta go thru the hassle of customs + pp, so it's from the UK, or Europe Im shopping.

Now, I have the 'xcuse ta go all-out on a solid acacia dream!! (he he)... and, wait a minute! the Pono AT retails exactly the same as the KA ASAC T at a reputable UK dealer at the mo! 'thas ta be the Pono then (good-bye slotted headstock, fer now!) ... only couple of Qs ta begin brain picking your authorities from this noobe:

i ) is the Pono arched back at all, like the Kala is?

and, of immense more mportance:
ii) only real critic ta the Pono I've gathered is some folks say the fretboard is narrow (or is the spacing in the strings?) that causes to push the G or A strings out of the fretboard once past the 5-6th fret... :eek: Scary stuff!! any imput on this please, other than this potential game-changer my mind (& heart) is pretty much set!

DISCLAIMER: While aware there's already a number of threds on each of the ukes I mentioned, I cheekely went ahead an started another 'un, with my specific questions... (can be quite anal that way) cosider it my Intro fer now, and thanks in advance!