Buying A New Uke?—Bring The Right Equipment

Farp

Reaction score
I thought this was worth a post, especially after seeing some threads on how to select a nice ukulele and not seeing something I have experienced.

Let me start off by saying, I have been playing the ukulele since I was 9 years old; and that’s 55 years ago. I’m no great musician, but I have fun with it. I had sort of gotten away from playing much until one of my grandkids became interested. So, not only did I get him an inexpensive ukulele for starters, I decided to get a better one for myself, figuring my 9-year-old GK could plink on it once in a while as well. I know all too well, that if you get a kid a junkie instrument that doesn’t stay in tune, or is hard to play, they’ll soon lose interest, etc., etc.

On to my point: I went to a music store in order to purchase a new baritone ukulele. (Did I mention, I prefer a baritone? If I ever get one of my sons to record a couple of songs I finger pick, I can show you why I prefer non-re-entrant tuning, if that’s a word…but I digress).

I liked one of the baritone ukuleles the store had—a major brand, but I won’t mention it here for reasons that will be obvious. However, the wood grain of the top wasn’t good. The growth rings were not tight, and they were curled with uneven coloration and a knot, and so on. I have seen many from the same manufacturer and knew I could do better. The store understood and was kind enough to go to the distributor to select a fine piece for me.

It took a few weeks, but the day finally arrived to go and see the ukulele that was shipped in. The baritone ukulele looked great. It sounded superb. The grain on the top was tight, straight and even-colored. There was just one slight problem—the action was a little high and there was a buzz at the 12th through 14th frets on the 3rd and 4th string. The store has an in-house luthier, so we felt he could set it up.