Outside of the box

Kekani

Reaction score
So, since Beau and I are derailing a thread, I thought I'd just start a new one.

Background: we've be in some discussion on building techniques, which we've been stealing off each other (thanks to his awesome vids). Of course, this is nothing new, with Pete's vids, and Chuck's commentary, Rick's input, et al.

In this thread, I plan on taking pics of my oft questioned M&T neck angle jig, and the accompanying jigs as well. I call this outside the box, because I don't think its a normal way to build, and I'm sure others have the same if they care to share.

Current question from Beau in the other thread: Do you butt the end of your fingerboard up against the headstock veneer then have the nut sitting on a half depth step in the end of the fingerboard???- This is beginning to sound like a great idea to me.

Yes. I didn't create this. Since I started playing bass, my Fender MIM PBass has this, and I've seen it before as well. Since I started binding the FB with BWB purfling (v without, as I've usually done it), I actually inset the nut between the binding, but not the purfling. Andrew has a shot of this on one of his old listings http://www.theukulelesite.com/aaron-oya-custom-spruce-maple-tenor.html

With just the binding, I actually did a cutout of the binding, so the nut would be completely seen from the side. I did a few on the inside, but because I beveled the binding at the time, I thought it was a little too thin at the top where the binding met the nut.

Note: because I butt the end to the veneer, and I bind the soundhole end, the 1/8" slot under the fretboard runs end to end. I used to stop before the ends, but not needed since its covered anyway. Much safer to do on the router table.

Last edited:
So, by setting the your (1/8"?) nut between the binding, was your neck at the nut about 4-6mm wider?, assuming you kept the normal string spacing at the nut or did you just have less bone from nut edge to string???