What was your SECOND uke?

cptdean

Reaction score
I'm just starting out on my first ukulele purchase, and I know I'll make the best decision I can based on what I currently think is a good blend of price, features, and name. But, like every other venture, I'm sure I'll have a much different mindset a few months after I buy, and that will lead me toward something new.

In other words, I doubt my first Luke will be my last.

I've seen a load of comments from established members to newcomers that "X" or "Y" brand/model would make a great "first" ukulele. My question is, what was your SECOND uke? The one you bought after you knew a little better what you were doing, or after you felt your tastes matured a bit.

Thanks!

It took me until my *fifth* uke to figure out what I needed - the first four got re-homed pretty quickly. The fifth was my Kamaka HF-2 concert, which I've played almost daily since I got it 5+ years ago.

(The previous 4 ukes, in order of acquisition: Ohana SK-10S, vintage Columbia mahogany soprano, Koaloha Pikake soprano, Kamaka HF-1 soprano.)

Last edited:
I started off with an LU-21, and after a few months I made the jump to a KPK -- solid wood, good price, Jason was great to work with.

I've owned quite a few ukes since then, but I don't know that I've ever been more excited than buying my second uke. Great thread.

My second uke was a Covered Bridge, Claro Walnut Body and Western Red Cedar top. It was one of richest sounding ukes I've played. While I have regretted selling it, I am enjoying the journey of rotating in and out of ukes (a necessity as I'm limited to 2-3 for the time being, though I can temporarily go above that). I've already owned 17 ukes and have been playing about 18 months.