Song Help Request Basin Street chords for the average player

spongeuke

Reaction score
Next Tuesday we (Petalukes) are going to jam it up and we need some good sounding and easy chords for Basin Street Blues.
The G7 C G7 Cdim C with a C Dm7 Cdim C response doesn't seem right on the ukulele.
Can you help?

Last edited:
Maguwa,

Pretty darn impressive, especially for for throwing together really quick.

Only thing I would add (and it's TOTALLY splitting hairs!) is that the C7 in bar 5 (not counting the pickup) would normally be played 2 beats of C then 2 beats o f C7. I only say this as I've been playing trombone in dixieland bands for about three decades...

Is that Sibelius? Finale? I use Finale all the time but wasn't aware of a ukulele tab feature. Sorry if this is common knowledge. I'm new around these parts. Really nice work.

Last edited:
blatboy,

Thank you for pointing that out! You are indeed correct. I have updated the file already. :)

I just started using Sibelius 7.5 (the trial version still). I have used Finale for years, but as you pointed out, the ukulele support is lacking... After a few hours of figuring out how to do what I want, Sibelius is proving to a real winner for me. Especially when using a midi keyboard. For Finale, I really like the speedy entry feature when I don't have a midi device.

That is awesome you play trombone! I played trombone for a number of years in the Los Angeles area and a bit here in Tokyo, but I now play ukulele exclusively. I miss the salsa and Latin jazz bands though.... I wish I had more opportunities to play dixieland. Tailgating is loads of fun!

My first thought when I saw it is that it was Sibelius. Hmmm. Interesting. I've never been a Finale fan boy, but I know it so well that I've not strayed. The uke features in Sibelius make me consider dabbling if I ever need to do any uke specific scores...