Konsidering a Kala?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Farp

Reaction score
The 3 or 4 Big-K-Brands are generally Konsidered the Kream of the uKulele Krop. But when unit sales are Kounted, Kala ukuleles Kan be listed as an eKonomical, popular K-brand alternative. But before you Konsider a Kala, you need to first Konsider my experience.

First, though, let me tell you I started playing the ukulele when I was 9-years-old. That was 56 years ago. I also worked in a music store, selling guitars. I played in a folk singing group. I gave guitar lessons. I’m not a great player, but I’ve seen and played a lot of instruments over the years. I know what I’m looking at in ukuleles.

I had let my playing slide until my grandsons wanted to learn how to play. All I had was my beautiful Yamaki guitar, made in Japan in about 1971. So, I decided to purchase a couple of ukuleles—one for me, and one for the GK’s. To quickly get started, I took a chance and bought two Lanikai’s from Butler Music’s “Gambler’s Special” on the Bay. The one I play now for practice cost $32 plus shipping. Both LU-21B’s received from Butler’s play fine.

Still, I wanted a nice baritone ukulele that would be my go-to instrument for the rest of my life. I prefer a baritone for a number of reasons I won’t elaborate here. I have a unique picking method and would like to post a few songs on the Tube, too. So a nicer instrument is in the cards.

One day last November, I happened to be by a store in the big city 80 miles from home and happened into a fabulous Kala KA-FMBG. The list price is $450, but most stores sell them for $299. The solid spruce topped ukulele with flame maple sides and back played like absolute silk. Its projection was amazing. The sustain and intonation were as good as anything I had played—and I’ve played a few. But I didn’t pull the trigger, as this was my first foray into a music store in years, and I wanted to shop around.