Left handed ukulele beginner

Trip

Reaction score
Hello...I just purchased a ukulele and discovered I can't play it right handed (I am right handed). My middle finger was mangled in a football game in HS, so when I place that finger on a string, it touches the string next to it. All my fingers on my right hand are normal, so holding down strings are not a problem. So now I need to purchase a left handed ukuele. Can someone give me some guidance about playing as a lefty, including where I can get cord sheets and songs for playing left handed. I am a rank beginner with no musical talent, so I will be learning from scratch. Thank you in advance for helping me get started. Trip

You can probably just reverse the string order on the ukulele you have and then play it left handed. As far as i know the cords are the same for left or right handed playing.

Yes, just restring it in reverse. If you don't understand chord charts, you could probably find lefty YouTube tutorials. Good luck!

Hello...I just purchased a ukulele and discovered I can't play it right handed (I am right handed). My middle finger was mangled in a football game in HS, so when I place that finger on a string, it touches the string next to it. All my fingers on my right hand are normal, so holding down strings are not a problem. So now I need to purchase a left handed ukuele. Can someone give me some guidance about playing as a lefty, including where I can get cord sheets and songs for playing left handed. I am a rank beginner with no musical talent, so I will be learning from scratch. Thank you in advance for helping me get started. Trip

You won't need special chord sheets or songs. Your uke will need to be restrung for left-handed playing, though. Sometimes this requires a bit of attention to the slots in the nut, as the strings are not all the same width.

I had a friend named Trip years ago....what part of the country are you from?