If not Ohana SK-35, then what?

Ukettante

Reaction score
Hi, guys!

This is my first post. I picked up the ukulele to play simple nursery rhymes for my kids. I'm currently using my wife's no-name, laminate soprano and am able to strum my way through several simple songs with my understanding of chord shapes, having played the guitar for a few years. Didn't take the uke too seriously at first, but before I knew it, it had insinuated its way into my heart. Now I'm studying the different strum techniques and exploring the fingerboard up the neck. Having a blast! And I think I'm ready for a real uke, a soprano size.

After extensive reading online, I've settled on Ohana's SK-35. I think it represents an equilibrium of price and quality. But I can't confirm whether it has side fret markers. My guess is it doesn't, as most Ohana models don't have them. Nor do Mainland ukes, my other preference. That's a deal breaker for me, but it seems there are no other comparable ukes in this price range with side dots, or is there? The two other ukes I really like, but which require that I fork over nearly double the money, are the Pono soprano and Koaloha Opio soprano. And I'm not sure whether the quality and sound I get will be proportional to the higher price—I'm thinking probably not.

So, any opinions on this, guys? Any input would be greatly appreciated!

But I can't confirm whether it has side fret markers. My guess is it doesn't, as most Ohana models don't have them. Nor do Mainland ukes, my other preference. That's a deal breaker for me, but it seems there are no other comparable ukes in this price range with side dots, or is there?
It is very easy to apply side dots. I just use a dab of liquid paper/whiteout if I want them. :)

Uke182, thanks for pointing me to that page on Mim's! I'll be sure to write her to confirm.