Harmonica begginer key of C or G?

Jerwin

Reaction score
Hello there,

I got a Hohner blues harph in G as a birthday present. I am totally new to harmonica. Been "studying" some ukulele for almost 2 years now. I am still most comfortable with the key of C.

99% of tutorials out there are made with harmonica in C.

What makes the difference in learning harmonica in the key of G?

I suppose I can follow up any key tutorial but I will just play in another key. Shall I return it and get the C one?

Opinions, please!

If you're playing alone it really doesn't matter which key of harmonica you have... it will sound fine. Most people start out with a C harp. What you have is referred to as a 'diatonic' harmonica. These are commonly used in blues, folk tunes etc. Most harp players have a several or more diatonic harmonicas to play in different keys and to play 'cross' harp, which is used to accompany a guitar or band: If they are in the key C you play the F harp, if they are in the key of G you play the the C harp (just move up 4 to get the right harp). The other type of harmonica is a chromatic that uses a slide to get sharps and flats, commonly used in Jazz or more complicated music (Stevie Wonder plays a chromatic). I'm no expert, but hope this helps.

The cool thing about a diatonic harmonica is everything you learn to play on say a C harmonica you can play on a G. I actually like to carry my G harp with me most of the time. I just like its tone more.

The cool thing about a diatonic harmonica is everything you learn to play on say a C harmonica you can play on a G. I actually like to carry my G harp with me most of the time. I just like its tone more.

Stick with it and you will find that you will either "cross harp" so you can play tunes in G on the C harp ...you just find a way round f#...like don't play it ...A on an E or vice versa.....etc...OR like me you'll get a bag of about 7 harps in different keys....cos they are great ...play one play all......