Rubin Ukes -> Caramel Ukes

aarondminnick

Reaction score
I've been following Rubin Ukes (manufacturer of pretty, inexpensive ukes on eBay) for some time and noticed that they just changed their name from Rubin to Caramel Ukulele. The ukes are all still marked "Rubin" but that may change in the future.

I also noticed that their newest A/E offerings boast upgraded electronics: 3-band EQ and integrated tuner.

I bought an A/E rosewood tenor a couple of months ago and have been very happy with it. Action was high, but plays great after setup from my local shop.

I like "Rubin" better than "Caramel". The former reminds me of Ruby (well, Rubin is German for ruby) and sounds precious and valuable, indicating quality. Caramel gives me the mental image of a slightly molten, somewhat undefined, plastic-y mass of stuff. ;)

I just ordered a Caramel uke from Amazon. Model CC401, concert sized. I'll post a review when it shows. I'm a dead newbie to ukes but I do know my way around bass/guitars and can hopefully tell the difference between faults in the instrument and what's my fault for not being able to play worth a damn, lol.

I like "Rubin" better than "Caramel".

I agree. I wonder why they changed?

I just got the Caramel zebrawood tenor a couple days ago. Yeah, it's just a 65 dollar Chinese laminate uke but it's built solid, looks good, plays well, sounds ok and it's acoustic/electric, comes with Aquilas and has binding on the front and back. Have the Rubin pocket uke also. All this name changing from Rubin to Caramel and this big line-up of various size electro-ukes in various wood finishes for cheap could mean that Caramel is looking to take on Kala/Makala for ukulele world dominance; I was recommending my Makala concert to friends who were looking for a first ukulele, now I mention Caramel too, more for the money.