[Sound Samples for Ohana, Kamoa] + Advice needed for a 3rd Ukulele

khnvet

Reaction score
Aloha! I am new to the forum.

I am looking for buying advice for my first serious uke (for recording) but I also have a sound clip (and a brief review) here for those interested in Ohana and Kamoa and how their sounds compare.

Kamoa and Ohana

I currently have an Ohana TK20CE (Tenor - solid mahogany top, laminated mahogany back and sides ~USD150-240 depending on pickup option) and a Kamoa E3C (Concert - solid spruce top, solid maple back and sides ~USD250). All with aquila strings (low G).

I really enjoy the beautiful resonance of the Ohana and the sweet, deep sound of the Kamoa. But I would like a ukulele with both the harp-like sweet, deep sound and the resonance and was wondering if anyone has any suggestion.

To illustrate what I mean by the sounds I have recorded sound samples of the two:

http://vocaroo.com/i/s1Krq7BbQBJ3

Sorry about some rustiness, I'm not very good at switching uke size. Also apologies for the sound quality, it's recorded on a cheap phone but it's done in a quiet room and you should be able to hear the differences between the ukes.

4 short excerpts, Kamoa followed by the Ohana every time. I plucked the first song harder just to show you the resonance of the Ohana. The other two songs are more balanced and you can hear that the Ohana has a more (electric) guitar-like sound. I included the last excerpt just to illustrate that.

Another observation is that despite the Kamoa being a concert it is louded than the Ohana tenor when fingerpicking, the sides of Kamoa's soundbox is actually a little bit higher. This is not to say that the Ohana doesn't have volume, it is quite a bit louder than equivalent or higher priced models by Kala and Cordoba. Both the Kamoa and the Ohana are extremely easy and comfortable to play compared to most (I have tried many ukes in shops).