Alulu Curley Acacia Solid Wood Uke

seattle

Reaction score
Alulu Curly Acacia Solid Wood Uke

Just a quick review as a first post. I read the forum before joining and before purchasing the Alulu Solid Wood Curly Acacia Tenor uke with case for about $210 including shipping.

I'm a fairly new uke player and don't have much to compare it to. I have a Kala Soprano laminate so that's the comparison I guess. :)

I do have guitars and mandolins so I have some stringed instrument experience.

As some others have mentioned, I found the Alulu to be a little heavier than I had expected and not as loud as I had expected.

It's not that it's really "heavy". It's just heavier than I was expecting from a solid wood uke. I guess that's based on mandolins and guitars and comparing laminate with solid wood.

There's not really much to complain about here however. :) A comparable Kala would have been about $400 vs $210.

I ordered the uke on Thursday and got it Tuesday (from Taiwan).

The finish is beautiful. The nut action is good. The bridge is a little high but with nylon strings it's not much of an issue and I haven't changed anything.

There's not enough excess material in the saddle to take anything off and I'm not going to unglue the bridge.

The construction quality/detail is excellent as far as I can tell.

The sound is nice and even though I thought it was a little quiet it's not excessively so. I'm also (kind of) comparing it to my laminate soprano. I think it will probably open up a bit as well as I play it more.

It came with Aquilla strings (high g) and I switched the high g out to a (red) Aquilla low G.

The case is very nice as well.

My main purpose in posting this review is just to alleviate any concern that anyone may have about ordering from ebay and wondering if the prices are too good to be true.

I can't imagine that I would be getting any more (quality) by ordered a comparable Kala at twice the price.