100 Push Up Challenge

Valerie

Reaction score
I've started a strength training program in preparation for my clinical this summer. But, not having worked out seriously in about a year, I knew I needed a gimmic.

But, being a poor college student, I didn't want to actually, you know, buy anything.

And then I found this site:

http://hundredpushups.com/index.html

And I was sold!

The basic premise is this: be able to do 100 consecutive, good form push ups in 6 weeks. (the kind of pushups doesn't matter- regular, knuckle, girlie, wall...)

Exactly the kind of near-impossible goal I need to motivate myself to go to the gym and lift weights (I hate lifting weights...)

Here's my initial test video as proof (and to keep me honest/ check for good form)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MBJP3TPc0wU

I did 6, but only 4 had good form (I'm counting good form as shoulders dropping in line with elbows.)

That puts me at the lowest level... But I guess that means I've lots of room to improve!

Anyone want to join me???

sounds good.

when i first started out our goal was 75 solid pu a day. at my pinnacle when i was really in shape (nearly 15 years ago pre-gf/wife while training for triathlons and surfing way too much) i was doing over 700. yikes! now i can barely survive 50.

I've always been plagued with upper extremity problems. I broke my right elbow (and torn the ligaments), and have a bad right shoulder. So at my best I could do 30 push ups. Sad, for me anyways, was a year ago I could do those 30. Now, well... it's amazing how quickly you can become deconditioned. I've gained 10 pounds in a year and lost pretty much all of my hard won muscle.

Like I said before, time to get back to the gym. This 100 push up thing is to just keep me motivated. (but wouldn't it be awesome to actually accomplish 100 push ups???)

This looks pretty cool! I have the upper body of ET, so I could certainly use the training.

JJ