One more lesson with so-so teacher. What should we do? Also, music theory resources?

JessicaM

Reaction score
I paid for two lessons with a teacher. I've had one and it wasn't great. He's a nice guy but doesn't seem particularly knowledgeable about the uke. Plus I think he's of the I'll-figure-out-your-song-and-then-you-play-it school of teaching. That's fine, but I can figure out a song myself. I don't need to pay someone for that.

Anyway, I think I'm a pain in the butt to teach, so it goes both ways!

So, I've got one more lesson with this guy. What can I have him show me so it's not a waste?

I'm a beginner. I've worked through Ukulele for Dummies and some of Ukulele Exercises for Dummies and Jumping Jim's Beginners book.

Bonus question: does anybody have a great resource for some basic, scratch-the-surface music theory knowledge. There's some seemingly good stuff in Uke Exercises for Dummies but I'm not getting it. This must've been asked a million times, but a search didn't turn up anything. (FYI: uke teacher guy wasn't great at explaining theory)

The Complete Idiots Guide to Music Theory is a great book. Goes through how scales and chords are formed, as well as the basics of melody and harmony and then some. Also check out musictheory.net

As far as your teacher goes... ask for either a diagnostic for your playing technique or something from a genre you normally never play.

Yes, if you are a beginner then I would focus on asking about technique, left hand placement, that sort of thing. Sometimes it can take a while to find the right teacher for you.

Yes, if you are a beginner then I would focus on asking about technique, left hand placement, that sort of thing. Sometimes it can take a while to find the right teacher for you.