A stupid beginner question

Nullbot

Reaction score
Hi there! I'm new to the Ukulele and I just have a quick question for ya.
Am I supposted to strum on the strings of the neck of the uke or the body. My pointer finger usually hurts more when I strum on the body part of the uke than when i strum on the neck but, I wan't to know which on is technically correct. Picture #1 or Picture #2?

Picture #1
http://imgur.com/a/xw0yW

Picture #2
http://imgur.com/a/re0m5

Thanks!

Picture 1 is closer. Play in the spot that is the sweetest. Try where the neck and body meet. Definitely not #2.

Thanks!, also is my finger hurting normal, or should I get a finger pick?

generally, your finger will hurt if you're new to strumming.
you might want to cup the fingers of your strumming hand and brush them across the strings.
I strum down with my index fingernail and up with my thumbnail.
different strokes for different folks :)

strum wherever your hand lands on the uke. When I hold my uke, my fingers
strum on the neck where it meets the body. after playing a bit there are light scratch
marks on the upper bout of the uke from my fingernails on my strumming hand.

keep uke'in',

Try practicing using different fingers. Also, maybe you are strumming harder than you need to. Try strumming down with the thumb, and up with your finger. Try using your middle and ring fingers for up and down strokes. If you mix it up a bit, it will help avoid overuse of any one finger. Strum around the 12th fret, like Chopped Liver suggested. The "sweet spot" is supposed to be half way between the nut and the saddle.

–Lori

Go slow at first when doing anything new. And start with short practices. (I know it is hard when you have a new uke)
Maybe only play 30 min.-1 hour a day for week. Let the muscles/fingers learn and also recover from new experiences.

Take time, to slow down, to speed up.

It will all come with time.

Last edited: