Trying to decide on a baritone ukulele

Reaction score
I am not a beginner to ukulele, but I am new to baritone ukuleles and so I thought this would be the best place to ask my question. I am trying to decide on what baritone ukulele to buy. I don't want to spend too much, but I want a quality instrument. The two ukuleles I am looking at are the Kala KA-SBG mahogany/spruce and the Kala KA-ASAC-B solid acacia

The first one is quite a bit less and more in my preferred price range, but from the sound samples I like the second one and the second one is really nice looking. I don't mind the look of the KA-SBG, but I much prefer the darker/less plain look of the KA-ASAC-B. I am not sure if I should pay more or settle for the first one. It took a several months to save up and I have the money for either one, but I'm not sure if it's worth it. Does anyone have any suggestions? Maybe there are other ukuleles that are a better value. I mainly want these because they're from Hawaii Music Supply and I've heard that their set-up is really good and they do it to every ukulele.

P.S. Another one that I found on HMS is the Kala SMHB Solid Mahogany. It's in between the two price ranges and I like the look better than the KA-SBG. It's sounds pretty nice as well. Still, I would like to have any suggestions you have before I buy one. I am not rushing into buying something when there could be a better deal.

Last edited:
I am mostly a tenor player, but wanted to offer that you are also looking and comparing a gloss (SBG) uke to 2 non-gloss ukes (ASAC-B & SMHB)...

...the consideration for me is that while the gloss may provide an added layer of 'protection' of dings on top of the wood, that might be able to be resurfaced if not too deep in that one spot and thus prevent a crack from the impact - for me the gloss is a magnet for smears and fingerprints and forces me to wipe down the uke almost to a hypo-allergenic level due to my latent OCD, and this is a PITA LOL