USB Microphone ?

mrStones

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I am thinking about getting a microphone to record some samples and hopefully try to partecipate in UU seasons (so mainly vocal and uke).
I've seen Blue Microphones Yeti and Snowball and seems good, but I am not really an expert, not at all.

What is your experience about USB microphones ?
Have you any brand/model to advice ?

I use only Linux SOs, if it matters.

Thanks everybody !

Your question couldn't come at a better time.
I have been buying and returning so many mics ( $100-$220 range) in the last four weeks.
I finally settled on Shure MV 5
It's a plug and play with the Shure app or any app will work. The self-montior headphone is directly plug from the device itself. It's light weight , it comes with a stand and wind screen. Three modes - voice, flat, acoustic. Very simple to use and doesn't drain your battery as much as others.
Although it is advertised as apple Ipad and Iphone but it comes with a regular USB cable so you can definitely use it on you Linux.
What I like the most about this mic is that it doesn't record unwanted sound. I was recording while my daughter walked in to say hi and the mic did not pick up her voice.
The cost of this mic is $99U.S. You can order from Amazon. If you don't like it, just return it . No risk.

Here is a sound sample of my playing recorded with this Shure MV . The click click sounds is actually from my guitar pick !
https://soundcloud.com/brenda-lee-wong/romance-6-strings-mini-r-a-tuning

Last edited:
I have the Blue Yeti Pro so I will speak to that. I used to own a recording studio, and I have owned and used $5000.00 microphones. I was really impressed with the recording quality of the Blue Yeti Pro. Frankly, I was shocked at how easy it was to use and how good it sounded. I use mine with Macbook Pro and Logic Pro. I have never used Linux that I am aware of.