Your story: how ukulele found you?

I've written about it here earlier but I don't mind repeating it. I am primarily a classical piano student but came to the ukulele when I got into classical guitar. Every piano student dreams of a portable instrument so I looked into ukulele as a little guitar to practice on away from home or class.
However I have noted that it is an instrument (soprano scale) to itself so I practice it for the sake of ukulele, not guitar anymore.
I'm always amazed how a little four stringed instrument can have such depth and brilliancy in contributions to music.

I had turned forty, reflected on my life and its narrow width and shallow depth, and since I couldn't afford sports cars I instead looked for an affordable (so I thought!), portable, allegedly easy to learn instrument that did not require electricity or a computer to function (wanted to get away from those). No musical background of substance outside of a few organ/piano classes when I was a young teenager, and playing soprano and piccolo recorder in school. I had tried clarinet in my late teens, but couldn't get a sound out of it. I picked up a few kalimbas around the same time as I got my first ukulele. Still like those, too.

I had learned piano and a bit of flute when I was in primary school, but I hadn't played anything since then. However, my wife is a singer who has a penchant for collecting various musical instruments, such as okarinas and tin whistles. She plays them a little bit, but not much. A few years ago, she asked for a ukulele for her birthday. I figured she'd give it a go for a few weeks and then it would go in the cupboard with the other instruments. Strangely, I couldn't put it down after we got it, so she got me one a few months later so that I'd leave hers alone. Now, we play together.