Which brands of ukulele should I consider??

TheKlmslim

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the Ukulele trend, ive been playing for a little over a month now, but I am in LOVE. Right now I have a really cheap ukulele(Diamond Head DU150) I got it to see if I would love playing, and now that I know that I do I need something a little nicer for myself!

I know I for sure want a tenor sized, nothing too expensive(max budget $250), I'm looking for a laminate because where i live its super dry and i don't want to have to worry so much about it being hydrated or not. So far from what i have read Kalas are known for some great quality Ukuleles, even their laminate ones. But I feel the selection on models is very limited. I'm open to anything I just want something that is known for having quality instruments. I've heard of Ohana, Luna, Kanile'a, Islander, and some nicer ones like Pono and Mainland( although I'm fairly certain they only make solid wood Ukes, correct me if I'm wrong). so I'm asking for your advice, which brands make good quality instruments and which ones should I avoid? If anyone has a specific model they love I will happily accept any opinions or recommendations. I am a sucker for satin finish, so even better if its got that.

Thank you so much!
-TheKlmslim

If you're committed to your price range and to a laminate, I think Kala and Ohana are your best bets. Mainland is just a couple bucks above your max, but they are solid wood ukes. Really, keeping a uke humidified is really not that big a job-- sometimes I feel like it's overstated in discussions here. So you may want to consider Mainland, which I think may be the best bang-for-the-buck in your pricerange.

If I was buying a laminate uke in your price range today, I would probably go Kala. The new zircote model is eye-catching and has a nice tone: http://www.theukulelesite.com/shop-by/brand/kala/kala-ziricote-tenor-ka-zct-t.html