Fingerstyle vs plucking

valde002

Reaction score
I have been playing the ukulele for about 7 months now and have had some lessons. I am not new to music, as I play the keyboards and percussion in a non-professional manner.

I have noticed that if I try to pluck the strings like a guitar, the volume is very low, almost inaudible. Plus sometimes I over-pluck and get a nasty response from my uke.

Now, I watch videos of really good people playing and they seem to pick/pluck sometimes at the sound hole and then use their thumb at the neck around the 12th fret sometimes. For resonance I believe.

Is this right? I am beginning to feel that ukuleles are not meant for plucking but more for thumbing, I guess, at the 12th fret. Is that why it's called fingerstyle and not plucking?

Hmmm... interesting question. I'm a mostly-fingerstyle player and always thought the term came directly from guitar - never gave it much thought. But your question led me to Wikipedia which states:

Fingerstyle guitar is the technique of playing the guitar by plucking the strings directly with the fingertips, fingernails, or picks attached to fingers, as opposed to flatpicking (plucking individual notes with a single plectrum, commonly called a "pick").

So per that definition, I'd say it's all plucking, as opposed to picking, unless you use a flatpick - the main difference being that you use your fingers. Or in my case, fingers and a thumb-pick.

As for volume/overplucking/nasty responses - it's probably just a matter of practice and getting to know what works for your particular uke to get the sound that you want (hence my use of a thumb-pick, but it took me a good 4 years of playing before I figured out that yielded the sound I wanted). I've never given much thought to where I actually pluck - usually just to the neck-side of the soundhole, I'd guess, although for some songs plucking near the bridge gets me the sound I want.