New to Baritone- books/ strings/ tuning questions

domestikitty

Reaction score
Hello All.

I have been playing ukulele for about 6 years, but mostly strumming chords in 1st position. Like, I can rock the snot out of the Daily Ukulele, but that's about it. :)

I recently became interested in the baritone, and thanks in large part to the reviews and discussions here I am now the proud owner of the Kala Cedar top (my husband- with his dreadnought Martin- calls it a small guitar with a handicap, but I think it's wonderful). My goal is to stretch my hands and brain to be a better player. My original thought was to get the Guadalupe octave down GCEA strings so that I could easily apply what I learn to my smaller uke. But I LOVE how it sounds as is, so now I'm second guessing that. Plus, since those are all wound strings, I'm assuming I'd have to have someone file the nut to make them fit, and then if I don't like them, I'm stuck.

First question: If anyone has both the octave down GCEA strings and a DGBE tuned baritone, could you do a side by side video/ recording so I can hear the difference? Random thoughts on the subject also welcome!

Second question: My neighborhood uses the Daily Ukulele for our jams. The reviews for the baritone edition are not very positive. I've occasionally heard the guitar players in our group grumbling about the key, and I'm guessing it's going to be equally bad for baritone... which makes me wonder about my tuning choice again... Any thoughts on the book? (And did you see that the Leap Year edition is coming out next week?!?)

Third question: Any thoughts on the Baritone Ukulele Aerobics book?

Fourth question: To strap, or not to strap? I'm having a little trouble figuring out where to hold it.

Fifth question: Strings? I know this is a giant can of worms. But if you have experimented and found something that you think is hands down the best choice, I'd love to hear about it.