What size for traveling?

davemchine

Reaction score
I am a novice and have been practicing with my Kala Solid Acacia Tenor Ukulele which cost around $380. I'm planning a trip to Kauai for this summer with some of my cousins and we want to play and sing down at the beach. I'm thinking I should take a less expensive and possibly smaller ukulele with me. I've been considering the Kala Travel Uke's in either the concert or tenor size. So I have a couple questions. 1) Which size should I buy and 2) How should I travel with it? My overnight bag is 20.5"x13.5" (interior) so neither is going to fit inside the bag.

kala ka-sstu-c concert travel ukulele 24"x8"
or
kala ka-sstu-t travel tenor ukulele 26"x9"

First, don't worry about it fitting in your bag. You have 2 carry ons. Any uke can be one of those. With a soprano, I put it in my backpack...making it part of one of my carry ons!

Second, make sure you it's a laminate. you don't want to have to worry about humidity.

Third, buy one you fall in love with and enjoy playing!

I frequently fly with a full-size tenor (in a big Oahu arch top case) and never had a problem on flights to Hawai'i (or even around the continental US). Frankly, I take my "good" ukulele with me--but if this is a good "reason" (read: excuse) to acquire another ukulele, who am I to give you any other idea? ;)

Personally I'd take a Brüko thin-bodied soprano, but that's what I play day-to-day at home anyway. I'd enjoy the sense of rebellion playing a German-made ukulele in Hawaii. :cool:

Being as you are new to the uke and own just a tenor the jump to soprano could be weird for you. The much smaller size feels very different, even tenor down to concert is noticeable. The sound is different as well. You should spend some time in music stores playing those sizes first to see if you like them. That is the biggest consideration, I travel with a full size tenor in a hardcase because that is what I like to play.