Searching for a new tenor -- all solid, acoustic/electric, cutaway

chris_

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been using a Cordoba 20TM-CE ukulele for a couple years now, but unfortunately it recently broke in a car accident. So now I'm on the hunt for a new tenor ukulele. I should probably mention that I'm in Canada.

I think I could justify an upgrade over the 20TM-CE (solid top only). I play my uke busking at the farmers' market (no amplification allowed), and occasionally at jams/open stages.

For busking, the loudness/projection of the instrument is really important. For jams/gigs with other folks (and maybe eventually recording), it will be important that the electronics are good. The cutaway is important for me so that I can easily access the high C chord. Good intonation will be a must. It would be nice to have it balanced well in terms of neck/body weight, since I often play standing up.

Also, I'll definitely been stringing a low G on it. I'll be using Worth clear strings. I play all kinds of styles of music. Mostly strumming, some picking too though. I'll want something durable enough that I'm not worried about bringing it out camping for campfires jams in the summer too.

A few options I've come across that are around my budget (up to about $600 CAD):

Cordoba 30T-CE -- $500 CAD - all solid mahogany, L.R. Baggs Five.O pick-up

Cordoba 22T-CE -- $350 CAD - solid spruce top, indian rosewood (not solid?) back and sides, Cordoba 2Band electronics

Mainland Classic Mahogany Tenor Cut-away -- $560 CAD - all solid mahogany, mi-si acoustic trio pick-up

Mainland Classic Mahogany Tenor Cut-away with Slotted Headstock -- $580 CAD - all solid mahogany, mi-si acoustic trio pick-up

Kala KA-SMHTE-C -- $470 CAD - all solid mahogany, Kala Shadow EQ JW 1 electronics

KALA KA-ATP-CTG-CE -- $530 CAD - solid cedar top, acacia (not solid?) back and sides, UK-300-TR electronics

Should I be looking at other intermediate brands too (e.g. Pono, Ohana, Mele...)?