Roll call: Players of 5ths tuning

LimuHead

Reaction score
I've seen that several people here on UU have ukulele tuned in 5ths.

Although I play a low G tenor for my professional gigs I have a concert ukulele tuned GDAE that I set up to take the place of my mandolin. I really like how much easier it is to tune (only 4 strings -- not 8!) and the lower tension of the strings. I really like the extra space between strings on the fretboard. The straight-forward nature of 5ths tuning also makes sight-reading, improvisation and transposing a joy!

I mostly play Irish tunes on it at this point and also enjoy playing through the Classical Fakebook.

I'm also studying Scarpology for mandolin.

If you play 5ths tuning please chime in.

I'd like to hear what kind of instrument & tuning you use (GDAE, CGDA, other?), the music you play, if you're a reader or not, and what you like/don't like about 5ths tuning.

I will add that at first chords in 5ths tuning sounded 'too wide' after coming from the close harmonies of ukulele & guitar, but the open sound of 5ths tuning is starting to grow on me.

I'd love to hear from other 5ths players out there!

Aldon

Last edited:
I'm sure others will join us :)

I have a pineapple soprano with a set of Aquila 5th's on it tuned GDAE, it subs for my mandolin late of an evening. My baritone is also tuned GDAE, but an octave lower, a substitute for my tenor banjo initially, but now an instrument "in it's own right".

I play mostly folk and traditional tunes on them, more or less whatever takes my fancy. I've got dozens of music books that range from the Medieval to more or less the current day.

I like the 5th's tuning because it gives me a wide range of notes in the first position with just four strings :music:

I have only one uke - it's a baritone tuned GDAE. I can't be bothered at this late time in life to learn tunings other than fifths.