Are tenor guitars and baritone ukuleles interchangable?

ripock

Reaction score
I find the two instruments very similar. I'm no expert, but when playing the two back to back the only real difference to me is the tenor guitar is twangy while the baritone is warmer.

I know even that statement is subject to debate, but setting that aside let me get to my question to those more informed than me:

Since, in my mind at least, the two instruments are so similar, can I make the guitar into a ukulele? What if, for example, I find a really great tenor guitar. Can I take off the steel strings and put on some Worth baritone strings and have for all intents and purposes a baritone ukulele?

I know I cannot do the opposite since a ukulele isn't made to withstand the tension of metal strings, but can anyone think of any opposition to ukufying a Blueridge or an old Martin tenor?

I don't think you would be satisfied with the sound quality, if you were to put 'nylon' strings onto a guitar that was made for steel strings.

A tenor guitar fretboard is narrower than a baritone ukulele. The body is usually a bit bigger as well. I have ukufied a tenor banjo and given it a reentrant dGBE tuning using baritone Worth strings. I rarely play it as it just doesn't sound as good as a purpose made instrument.
I have an old (1927) Martin tenor guitar that will stay a tenor guitar. I just use very thin steel strings in DGBE Chicago tuning.

Tenor guitars are braced much differently than baritone ukes. As a result, a steel-stringed tenor guitar sounds weak with nylon strings. Just for fun I once tried stringing my Blueridge with classical nylon strings and gave up after three days.

Like all stringed instruments, the type of wood, the shape, the strings and all add to what gives the instrumrnt its voice. My Martin tenor guitar sounds much warmer and mellower than my Blueridge which is a deeper boomer.