Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What we're up against

Default What we're up against

The title isn't dead serious. I'm not a pro builder and I can easily get enough material for my builds. But look at this vid from a Chinese guitar maker. The fact that the factory is in China is of less importance, it could be anywhere and still frighten me with draining the wood supplies and flooding the market at the other end.

That said, look at the machines! Gang drilling for side dots, applying brace glue in a cnc machine - I couldn't imagine stuff like that. And still some hand tools show up.

I almost felt sorry for them mis-spelling a three letter word at the very end.

Building blog - http://www.argapa.blogspot.com
    Music and atrocities - http://www.goodcopbadcop.se

That was great Sven...I use one or two of those methods myself..But not as quick or in such volume...scary stuff
    http://ukulele-innovation.tripod.com ebay i/d squarepeg_3000

Phoar! One pass headstock shaping :O

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 22.55.38 .jpg

They must be very proud to be producing such generic objects in such a large volume.......just what the world needs......
    Always interesting to see factory methods though. Thanks for posting this.

Creating instruments with no soul.

Bob

Well after your introduction I thought I was going to see a machine doing everything and was surprised to see SO much handwork. They were shaping the neck heel by hand and I was a littler perturbed by how freeform they seemed to be in gluing on the fretboard. There may be errors there.

Anthony

Quote Originally Posted by Beau Hannam Ukuleles View Post
    They must be very proud to be producing such generic objects in such a large volume.......just what the world needs.......