Is it worth repairing?

poppi_m

Reaction score
Hi all ,

I'm new to ukuleles as in a few weeks new .

My dad died but left me a ukulele he bought in the early 70s.
I couldn't find out much about it based on demensions , number of frets ,etc. What I could find out it that it's a kanaka "white label " ukulele.

I emailed kamaka with pics and demensions and all they sent back
was that it was a long neck tenor .

It has a slight crack in it that I'd like to get repaired
and maybe learn to play , but I'm concerned about
putting more than the instrument is worth .

I can't find much of anything about vintage kamaka
Long neck tenors good , bad or indifferent . I can't even find a hard case that will fit it .

So any insight would be great . Thank you all in advance .

Can you post the pics here? Or to a hosting site like Photobucket and link here? That would help the experts here determine a rough estimate of value. If it is in decent shape other than the crack, I think a repair should not be too costly and if that helps you connect to your dad in some way, how do you put a price on that?

I think I'm able to add pics

Attachments

• IMG_7489.jpg
    IMG_7489.jpg
    84 KB · Views: 232
  • IMG_7491.jpg
    IMG_7491.jpg
    93.5 KB · Views: 183
  • IMG_7490.jpg
    IMG_7490.jpg
    92.6 KB · Views: 192
Most any Kamaka, unless totally trashed, is usually worth at least $350.00. I believe the white labels were made in 60s/70s. I have a 50s gold label soprano that had a couple of cracks when I got it, it cost me about $100.00 to get it repaired by mail, and I can help with that guy's contact info if you PM me. As long as no braces are loose inside, the crack repair should be a pretty easy fix. Here's a pic of mine.

View attachment 99657

Nice !

I guess I'm not sure if it's a good thing meaning rare higher value
Because I can't find any info on the long neck tenors if this age or if it's because no one
Cares about them