Greetings from Los Angeles!

josheboy

Reaction score
Hey everyone :)

I'm Josh, a new uke player from that vast expanse & suburban sprawl just north of LA called "The Valley". I've been playing guitar off and on for years, but since I was self taught and mostly ear-taught, my music theory knowledge is terrible. I try to learn it on guitar, but since I learned by myself, the bad habits and weird labels I taught myself make it very difficult. So I've been in a playing/learning rut for a while.

Enter my 20 month old son. He LOVES my guitar, so I bought him a little uke to play with me. He loves it so much when I play it, and I've discovered that I love playing it as well, so I've decided to learn how to actually play it. Then a thought occurred to me: Why not learn how to play the uke and learn proper music theory at the same time! The instruments are different enough that most of my bad habits wont cross over, but yet they're similar enough that the music I learn on the uke can easily be translated to my guitar.

So here I am, a new UU+ member and already getting familiar with the instrument via the 101 videos. I am also self-studying the Circle of 5ths and Major and Minor scales in more detail (rather than just memorizing the finger patterns). One week into this new routine, I am already making some significant strides of progress, and I am having a blast doing it!

I'm currently playing a Luna Concert, but my fingers are having a hard time with some chords, so I ordered a Gretsch Tenor to hopefully help out with that.

UU seems like a very very cool place. I'm looking forward to this musical journey with you all.

Cheers!

Josh

Welcome josheboy, I think you will like this site. Lot's of good info and lot's of good people. Enjoy the journey!

Greetings and welcome, glad you joined us.