Advancing in my learning

a456bt

Reaction score
Hey guys! First post so I'm happy to be here!

I have a fairly musical background, I've played piano for years, as well as guitar, trumpet and clarinet on the side. I'm mostly a drummer and that's what I'm best at, but Ukulele has always had a somewhat interesting relationship with me. I've "played" ukulele for years, but never really gotten good at it. I'm one of those people that can just play tabs of songs and strum, I really wouldn't consider myself good at the ukulele at all. I have a good rhythm hand (I'm a drummer!), I can palm mute, and I've learnt a finger picking song before, but other than that I'm pretty much useless on the ukulele. I have no idea where to go or where to learn this, but I want to progress and learn to play the uke better. Everywhere I go for information on playing the ukulele it's all the same beginner stuff - strumming, reading tabs and tuning. I want to learn to play better finger picking and incorporate that into playing chords as harmony. The kinds of things you'd expect to hear from somebody who actually knows what they're doing when they pick up the uke. How do I break past the barrier of just playing chords along to songs and begin to really understand how to make music on the uke? (never learned music theory, but I have a feeling part of the answer is music theory...)

There are a number of books aimed at the advancing or intermediate player, although many of them start out with a few introductory lessons.
Here are a few to consider:
Ukulele Aerobics by Chad Johnson, published by Hal Leonard
20 Easy Fingerstyle Studies for Ukulele by Rob MacKillop, published by Mel Bay
20 Progressive Fingerstyle Studies for Uke by Rob MacKillop, published by Mel Bay
Ukulele Fretboard Maps by Fred Sokolow and Jim Beloff published by Hal Leonard
Jake Shimabukuro Teaches Ukulele Lessons published by Hal Leonard