Martin Smith Ukulele

cody41020

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to ukulele. Recently I decided to buy a cheap starter ukulele to help me learn the basics. I ended up deciding on this one-
http://www.argos.co.uk/product/5401068. Now, I had read reviews on it that were either higlhy positive or extremely negative, but I decided to take a chance on it. I have to say I'm very satisfied with it- it stays in tune pretty long, and I love the sound and the learning I get out of it. Back to the reviews- I cannot understand the claims being made at it, that it gets out of tune easily and is shoddy overall. So, preferably anyone else who has owned one of these (or anyone who knows much about ukulele products at all), what do you guys think of it? I personally love it, but should I get something more pricey but better next time around?

Congrats on your new uke.

Just an FYI - when you say "it stays in tune pretty long" what you may not realize is that the strings will nearly always be stretching, and this is by design, and strings are meant to be disposable/replaceable over time.

The more that you play every day, the less time it will take for the strings to stabilize and require less frequent constant re-tuning.

Mechanically there is nothing else on the use that would cause it to go out of tune other than if you have friction tuners (as opposed to geared machine head tuners), and the friction tuners might need to be adjusted.

Changes in temp and humidity will cause the wood to expand and contract, and this may cause friction tuners to require adjustment if not holding properly or not easy to turn. Geared tuners do not have this problem. For geared tuners to slip, the gear-parts would have to be really dodgy and even cheapo Chinese geared tuners that are like $5/set for 4 tuners via ebay etc tend not to slip at all. YMMV.

Good luck with the new uke, and you will find lots of info here on UU to help you learn more. :)

Welcome aboard. :)