Playing UBass in ukulele group advice

Edspyhill05

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm getting a Kala UBass in about 2 weeks to play in my ukulele meetups.

Can you share advice about things like:

What bass playing is preferred by Ukulele groups.
Some do's and don'ts for playing with a group of ukes.
The worst experiences with a bass player, etc.

Thanks,

Ed

Most groups should be happy they have a bass player! I think a common complaint is that the bass is too loud, supposing that you're gonna play it through an amp, since there is no way the UBass could be heard against a group of full-on strumming ukers.

I've been playing bass uke with The CC Strummers for almost three years. I started because our leader asked if anyone would like to take up the bass to fill in our sound, we have a bout 30 to 40 players most of the time. I never played bass before, but in the almost 50 years of playing guitar before ukulele, I was often told to play bass. When I started, I took a few lessons just to understand the basics. One of the most important things the teacher taught me was the bass player keeps the tempo, everyone must follow, not the other way around. Use enough volume to make that happen, but too loud is not good too. (I once saw Jake Shimabukuro in concert and I thought his bass player was too loud.)

Not sure why you ask what is preferred or what kind, to me bass playing is bass playing, 1-5s, walk ups, walk downs. You will have to use an amplifier, don't be mis-informed that an acoustic bass will heard without one. I'm one who gets completely immersed (as my signature will attest), I bought a Phil Jones Double Four bass amp and battery. It's top notch, very compact, but there are plenty of less expensive choices.

Just feel it out when you get there. Have you told the leader? Communication is most valuable. We actually have two bass uke players, and the entire group often expresses their appreciation to us.