Recommendations for C string on my uke?

Driven247

Reaction score
Hi all! I'm new to everything uke, stringed instrument, and well, anything musical besides listening.

2 days ago I brought home a new Mainland long neck soprano pineapple in solid red cedar and rosewood (?).

As I practice strumming, I've noticed the C string seems to drown out the others. It's becomming distracting to me. I've searched here and eleswhere, and a string swap seems to be a common suggestion.

Any recommendations for my particular uke? I wad told it currently has Aquila strings.

Thanks in advance!

I usually put (Living Water) flourocarbon strings, (low G), on my better ukes. :)

Depending on where you live, you may have some easier options, others will suggest other alternatives.

I have a similar problem with my cedar topped tenor with D'Addario Carbons (EJ99T). I tried using an E string from a Phd set as I found that a lesser diameter string reduces the issue. Not sure if it works all that well but it does help. I found that you have to moderate the strum a little on the third string to eliminate it. I'm still working on that as it is very tricky to do.

I would do a complete string change to flurocarbon strings. My favorites are Oasis strings. They come in warm or bright and there is length enough for two sets. Another good set is Martin M600s. They are fairly inexpensive and easy to find.

Hi Driven247,

The Aqulia Nylgut are warmer and the C does have the lower end sound to it, I found it to be the same on my Uke, drowning out other tones.

Flurocarbon might be the way to go as others have suggested.