Weird string ringing issue (buzzing)

joshsimpson79

Reaction score
I have a couple of strings that almost ring as if there are two strings of the same pitch. It's not quite the same as a fret buzz, but it's rather annoying and I haven't found any great answers on research.

I've played guitar for years, so I'm not a total novice at this. Maybe the strings need changing?

I bought this Kala solid wood concert in early July and have played it daily.

Yeah, I'd change strings to begin with and let them settle. If the problem persists, then there may be an actual issue. If there is an issue, if you report back here be sure to mention if it's on open notes only, fretted notes, or both.

If it only happens on open strings then it's most likely some roughness at the bottom of the nut slot.

If it happens when playing fretted notes, then it's most likely a flat or high spot on the saddle underneath those strings.

This assumes you've had the problem since July - if it's new, then try changing strings.

I write "most likely" because there are hundreds of possible causes! But these two can be checked out pretty quickly.

For the first, put a scrap of thin paper under the string in the nut slot. If the ringing goes away, the slot needs reshaping.

For the second, run your fingertips over the saddle where those strings cross - your fingertip can feel flats or ridges better than you can see them.

Thanks for the tips. I'll give them a try.

It was bought and set up by Mim's ukes. It was not there at the beginning.

Geared or friction tuners on the uke? Sometimes geared tuners - including the closed type - will buzz from within when a note is played. Mute the tuners with palm, play the string or strings and see if any change occurs.

Mim does a good setup, and this wasn't there originally but has developed since.