New (to me) uke day and a happy story

philpot

Reaction score
Afternoon, UU!

I've been absent from the forums for quite awhile, but I just wanted to give a quick update on the next big thing that's happened in my ukulele journey.

Some time ago, I was on the waiting list to get a Mya Moe ukulele. I had been playing for several years and finally wanted to get an instrument that was made for me. I put my name down and began the wait.

My name was finally put onto the build schedule, and as you can tell from this UU thread I made at the time, I was quite thrilled. Unfortunately, life happens, and I had a car literally blow up on me. Forced to choose between transportation and a uke, I had to cancel my order.

Since my wood was already picked and the build schedule finalized, Mya Moe went ahead and made my uke and put it up for sale. I didn't see it posted, but I did go back and sadly look at the uke tracker some time later to see what I had missed. Man, she was beautiful. (http://www.myamoeukuleles.com/uketracker.php?trackingNumber=1863) I fantasized about figuring out who ended up with it and buying it off them, but I never thought it would actually happen.

Fast forward a little over a year, and a chance UU post and some messages back and forth later, and it looks like I'm the proud owner of Mya Moe SN# 1863! I'll post my own pictures when she arrives, but I couldn't contain my excitement and I just wanted to share my happy acquisition with the community that inspired me to keep playing and sharing my favorite instrument after all these years.

-Phil

That is awesome Phil! That uke was literally and figuratively made for you! I am glad it found its way to you. Congratulations on an incredible uke!

Great story! I hope it's all you hope it'll be and then some. After all that, getting it will probably be even sweeter.

This is a really cool story, welcome back and thanks for sharing it!
Beautiful uke, too....