Scale techniques/practice: what scale to do after Major and Minor

Reaction score
Been practicing the 1st position major and natural minor scale up and down the neck (along with the 4th position of both). Wondering what I should do next?

Do I learn the 2nd through 5th forms of the major, or do I move to pentatonic or something else?

Thanks for the advice...

You sound like a beginner music student. "Done. What's next to master??"

Keep going over the basics of running through all major and minor scales most importantly in the higher positions not just first position.
And focus on clarity, articulation, then speed.
I practice on a Yamaha gl1 6 string it has a very high action but I practiced scales on it slowly that now after several months I am able to speed through scales clearly on a high action fretboard.
Even the masters keep working on the elementary basics.
Keep doing them.

You sound like a beginner music student. "Done. What's next to master??"
Yup. I am a beginner.

Keep going over the basics of running through all major and minor scales most importantly in the higher positions not just first position.

Sure, but if I followed that advice, I'd only know only three cords and one song. Trying to expand my understanding and enjoyment of the instrument.

Please know I wasn't saying I "mastered" anything. Just wanting to know what would be a good next scale to add to the practice routine on top of the major/minor/and 4ths I'm currently doing.

Thanks in advance....

As a music educator, I think the question is fair—and relevant. We want kids to practice until they can’t get it wrong—and when they do, it is time to add the next challenge. That doesn’t mean that you stop practicing what you know. Michael Jordan probably STILL practices free throws...and he is long retired!