Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My advice to beginners is: get 2 ukes. Why? . . . .

Default My advice to beginners is: get 2 ukes. Why? . . . .

So, playing as a beginner, I am constantly coming across ukulele music in both low G and high G.

I am really glad that I have both high G sopranos and a low G tenor. It must be frustrating for beginners to come up against music and can't really play it as notated because it is not written for their setup.

So, my advice for serious beginners is to have 2 ukuleles. A soprano in typical high G and a tenor or concert, or baritone in low G.

another reason also is that if you prefer to tune and play in something other than a variant of GCEA tuning, like Bb or A6 for yourself when alone or for suiting your vocal range without transposing to different chord shapes in another key...

YOU will STILL need a GCEA tuned uke for following along with video tutorials and/or playing at your local uke club, unless you plan to use a capo, and IMHO, using a capo on smaller than a baritone seems kinda pointless to me, when I have ukes in all the other scale lengths - yes I have quite a few ukes, and only 3 of them are currently in GCEA or DGBE tunings...others are Bb, A6, G6 and in variations of fifths tunings...

But a hi-g and low-g are useful as you had said, otherwise get a five-stringer, that has both and you have it covered in one instrument with the octave already installed.
    Just the FAQs
    "Only those who will risk going too far, can possibly find out how far one can go."
    -T. S. Eliot

If the problem is trying to figure out how a song's melody goes and notes go below C, it can be really frustrating sometimes, not always, with a re-entrant uke.
    Usually you can play an octave higher, but then certainly other difficulties with such high frets to find right notes. I am talking about regular musical notation from songbooks.

So for that the low-G uke can really help as songs seldom go below it's low G.