Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Early Music

Talking Early Music

Does anybody else think that medieval and renaissance music sounds really good on the ukulele? I heard Tourdion by Wilfried Welti on YouTube and bought the e-book with the tabs just for this song, as it is one of my favourites. Unfortunately I couldn't play all of it yet, it's difficult for me. But I can play Greensleeves and Scarborough Fair just fine. Can you suggest any medieval tunes for me? I'm not a total beginner but I'm not a good player either.

No suggestions here, but Wilfried's Tourdion performance is indeed beautiful, and something to aspire to. What chops!

Ask NOT what your country can do for Uke...ask what Uke can do for your country.

Quote Originally Posted by Ukecaster View Post
    No suggestions here, but Wilfried's Tourdion performance is indeed beautiful, and something to aspire to. What chops!

<3

Tony Mizen's book From Lute to Uke would be my recommendation - he also has a few other classical books that are worth checking out. His arrangements are really nice!

Quote Originally Posted by janeray1940 View Post
    Tony Mizen's book From Lute to Uke would be my recommendation - he also has a few other classical books that are worth checking out. His arrangements are really nice!
    YES
    This is exactly what I was looking for.
    Time to save some money.
    Thanks.

I have Tony Mizen's book. It's very good but I haven't played it much. I play a lot of early music on recorder but I use the uke primarily for singing. I sing songs from the 17th & 18th century and have my 8 string uke tuned like a Renaissance Guitar.
    Geoff Walker

I have several ukuleles in various sizes and am not planning on getting any more...

at least, not yet.

I also play some blowy things and a squeezy thing

Internet:
    You Tube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/TootlinGeoff
    Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/tootlingeoff