Asking for wood help

Brudd

Reaction score
Hi,
I have been woodworking for 20+ years and have decided to make my daughter a Ukulele. She has been learning for about one year but has been using a not so good instrument (it has a painted palm tree on it).
I would like to use woods that compliment each other and thats where I need help.
I have some well dried, beautiful plum that was her grandfathers tree. Is plum a good choice for the sound board - back - sides?
I also have some black walnut, would it be good for the neck or fret board?
What other types of wood can or should be used with the plum and black walnut?
I shouldn't have a problem with construction, I would also like it to sound good too, and add some personalization.
Probably going to go with concert size.
Any input will be appreciated, Thanks.

Your choices of wood will be fine if they are properly seasoned. I have actually never heard of using plum wood in an uke, but I say go for it. Like someone said earlier, anything goes with ukuleles.... Walnut should be fine for a neck as long as it is relatively straight grained.... Also I find that women with small hands tend to like that concert size. .... Oh, and you said you would like it to sound good too. Don't we all! That is actually the point of the exercise. We are not building furniture here. Input: Build it thin and build it light. Good luck! Send pictures!

Plum is similar to cherry, a little more dense/heavy. The walnut is almost perfectly strait, very dark chocolate color. I will post photos as I build, hopefully get some input as I go.