Any updates on Twisted Wood Ukuleles?

Reaction score
Hello everyone and happy belated Thanksgiving to those of you in the USA.

I started playing uke this past summer and have been using an Eleuke. I really like the quietness of the electric so that I can practice without disturbing others around me, but my particular uke is . . . not the highest quality. Two music repairs techs told me that the bridge appears to have been installed slightly too close to the neck so if you tuned an open string, then that same string at the 12th fret was like 20 cents sharp. A setup from one of the shops made it playable, but it still has some issues so I've been considering purchasing a slightly better acoustic concert sized uke.

Being in Alberta, Canada, the dollar exchange, shipping and duties add a lot to the purchase from the American sites that are usually recommended here, so I've been considering purchasing from a local store. We have the general big box instrument stores but I don't particularly trust their setups. Then there are two stores in town that specialize in stringed instruments. One leans a little more towards guitar/bass, and there other towards orchestral strings but they both carry ukuleles. I also read a thread on here recently where one of these two stores got very high praise from UU members.

One store carries Kala, Ohana and Twisted Wood and the other carries Kala, Twisted Wood and apparently Martins and Collings, though I don't see any in their current stock and I believe those would be way above my price range.

I see lots and lots of recommendations for Kala for starter ukes on this site, as well as Ohana but my local stores carry a larger selection of the Twisted Wood (Alberta company, etc.) and the prices of the TWs and the Kalas are basically the same.