Beginner advice for a new uke issue

Brendan688

Reaction score
Thanks for looking, quick background, I’m new to Ukes, but play guitar so some things translate. I’ve been looking to get a uke to replace my kids toy I’ve been using (it’s not that bad for plastic!).
Should have listened to all of you and went with one of the recommended places, but I saw a great deal...
Saw an ad for a uke closeout. Company was done making ukes and selling off the rest of their inventory. Couldn’t find a single thing online about them and ukes (they make other instruments), nothing on this forum, bit of a gamble. Ukes look great, asked for a sound clip, sounded great. New was 250, closeout 100. Includes a gig bag.
Arrived yesterday, gig bag was very nice, high quality, uke looks beautiful, feels nice. Solid spruce top, bocote lamanite back/sides. Nut/saddle bone, Aquila strings. So far I’m really happy. Couple notes, sounds really nice, chords, it’s sings pretty good, really happy for 100. Until I play E7...what’s that buzz? Second fret on the G is lifted a bit. Open it’s fine, playing anywhere else it’s fine, but fretting at first makes the G hit the second fret causing the buzz.
If it wasn’t for that, I’d be really happy. There is one music shop near me, I like the store but their repair/tech staff are terrible. The next closest place is about an hour away. They do nice work. I can do basic set ups on my guitars, but have never done fret work. I’m guessing a shop would charge 30-50 for that? From what I can tell, it doesn’t need to be set up, the action is nice, intonation is great, just that one fret and only on the one side.